poetry

Warrior Women; a poem

Yeah, I’ve got the blood of my forefathers.

But I got the spirit of my foremothers, in our bones, in our marrow,so we grew strong.  we’ve got the spirit of my foremothers that grew children on prayers and a broken dime.

Strong on the backs of women who learned to live in war zone houses and still build a home

And taught me to fight like the angels.

Yeah, I’ve got the blood of my forefathers

But I only remember my mothers hands and how she raised things.

It was out father’s blood that made me run crazed from windows. Malicious mirrors demanding that me acknowledge a heritage that only caused this.

Because I won’t participate in your haunting scandal or take your ghosts for you. We’ve got too much soul for that.

My mothers won’t let that happen. They lent too much spirit to me. Spent to much time kneading the doe for supper when there was no one else to.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

