Book review · Books, books, and more books.

The Last Olympian (the 5th and final book in the Percy Jackson series) by Rick Riordan book review.

I just finished this book this morning and I could just scream from cuteness, humor, and the feels. First of all, we need to talk about Percy and Annabeth

“I mean sure, she has always been cute, but she was starting to be seriously beautiful.”

Yes. Yes. Yes. I so ship it so much. I didn’t really feel myself shipping Percy and Annabeth before this book.

The plot and character development was awesome. I think Annabeth grew the most in this book, and I was so surprised when they found out who the spy was.  I felt the plot flowed very nicely even though there was some spots I though were a bit dicey.

However, I do have to criticize the the climax. It was definitely suspenseful but I don’t feel like the climax peaked well enough. This is about the only criticisms I have on this book.

I love how Rick Riordan puts all the clique family stuff in the family of the gods. It is hilarious.

“I warned you daughter, This scoundrel Hades is no good. You could’ve married the god of doctors or the god of lawyers but nooooo. You had to eat the pomegranate.”

Do you see what I mean? This is gold. Rick doesn’t stop at the family stereotypes either. 

“But these were the New York river gods, I figure their first instinct would be to get in my face.”

And the sarcasm is hilarious.

“Hey, show up with an army of the undead warriors to save the day, and suddenly you;re everybody’s best friend.”

Overall five stars and I highly recommend this book.

 

Leave a Reply

