Ramblers Digest.

Rambler’s Digest #10; Albert Einstein

Albert Einstein had never interested me much until I read a book by Walter Issacson called “Einstein”. Then my interest peaked and soared. Einstein had a very complex life that was quite intriguing.

I tend to separate intelligence and creativity and think smarts are more important than imagination, but Einstein sure didn’t. From what I collected of him; to him those things are almost one and the same. In fact imagination seemed  to even more important .

Imagination is more important than knowledge- Albert Einstein

Einstein also preferred the less formal way of teaching than the traditional way. This was why he disliked the schools in Germany; they were too militaristic. I have found that most of the people who turned into great scientist and other things also disliked the formality of everyday learning. Which is interesting considering that schools haven’t change all that much.

I believe that love is a better teacher than a sense of duty, at least for me- Albert Einstein

This opposition for traditional public education was constant and obvious throughout his life. Einstein strongly believed that a requirement for good education was intellectual freedom.

This strong desire for intellectual freedom seemed to be the cause for his contempt for authority, although I can’t know for sure.There was an undeniable irony to his resistance because he became a public figure and authority . Einstein acknowledged this.

To punish me for my contempt for authority, fate has made me an authority myself- Albert Einstein

Even though I have not even begun to cover Einstein’s life I would like to finish this post with one quote that really stuck with me.

A foolish faith in authority is the worst enemy of truth-Albert Einstein

If this has sparked your interest I suggest reading Einstein: His Life and Universe by Walter Issacson. It was an amazing read.

Like and Follow! Follow me at @girliesttomboyeva on instagram and Isabelle Denka on Google+

 

Leave a Reply

