Uncategorized

Ramblers Digest #1: What learning is to me.

I’ve been playing with this idea for a while now and finally had the courage to put it out on the internet for all the world to see.

I read a lot, and a substantial amount of those books are non-fiction. Most people who read as avidly as I do tell me that it is “boring” to read them but I don’t think so. I like learning and thinking. In fact I think to a fault ( over-think). So while I was reading a non-fiction book it occurred to me that learning new things is like acquiring new magnifying glasses that have different traits.

I know I sound crazy and non-sensible and maybe it is, but hear me out. Learning different subject can teach our minds to think in different ways. For example, learning economics and geometry can teach us to think with more logic. History teaches us of other people mistakes and life lesson, and what’s better than learning from other people’s mistakes? It also helps me form opinions on things and who doesn’t love to have a friendly argument on economics? Not this gal, that’s for sure.

For example I was was listening to an audio book lecture on Ecology (Modern Scholars) and it made me really think about the nature vs. nurture concept, and I have come to a conclusion; it’s really both but neither. Nature and nurture play such different roles that it brings on the question: how can they even be compared? It’s like comparing oranges and apples.

I hope this makes you want to browse the non-fiction section of your library, comment if you think I am wrong or right! I’d love to hear what you think!Let us challenge our minds in a civil way.

Leave a Reply

